Securing the
Future of Crofting


8 Commissioners sit as a Board to set policies and decide complex applications. Commissioners also participate on a number of internal policy working groups with senior Commission staff.  These groups develop policy thinking and responses to partner organisations on consultations affecting the future of crofting.


Three Commissioners were appointed by Scottish Ministers and five Commissioners were elected by crofters.  All are supported by the Commission's Chief Executive and Management. There are nine Commissioners who work part-time, approximately 4 days each month with a salary of £7,440.


You can find details of the elections here and a map of the Constituencies for elections here.


Role Description for Crofting Commission Convener, Vice-Convener and Members.


Commission Board meetings are usually held in public.  This allows the Commissioners to meet crofters and others who wish to attend, as well as letting them see at first hand our decision making.


Find out more about the Commissioners and their Register of Interests:

Arnie Pirie


Colin Kennedy


David Campbell


Ian George MacDonald


Kathleen Sinclair


Marina Dennis


Murdo MacLennan   William Swann


What is Crofting?
Find out more about this unique crofting system
Common Grazings
Find out more about Common Grazings and Common Grazings Committees
Regulatory Applications
Find out about the latest regulatory applications and decisions
LinkedIn Icon Facebook Icon Twitter Icon
Great Glen House, Leachkin Road, Inverness IV3 8NW ~ T: 01463 663439 ~ F: 01463 725067 ~ E: info@crofting.scotland.gov.uk | Sitemap | Privacy